There are two ways to track your employees working hours without creating a work schedule. You can let your employees register their working hours or let them check-in/out when they begin and end work.
Tracking hours by letting employees fill out their working hours.
When you want to keep track of working hours by letting your employees fill out their working hours, you simply have to enable a setting in the scheduling settings of your Workfeed account.
Once the setting is enabled, your employees can add their working hours daily by creating shifts in the schedule. Those working times will be sent by you for approval.
Tracking working hours with the time clock.
When tracking working hours with the time clock, your employees will have to check in when they start working and check out when they're ready for the day. Before they can start checking in there are a few things you have to set up:
Activating the time clock.
First of all, you'll have to activate either the terminal or in-app time clock. You can enable one or both options from the time clock settings, which can be found in your Workfeed settings on the top right of the screen. Read more about the terminal and in-app time clock here.
Allowing employees to check in without shifts.
To track hours without scheduling employees, you have to allow your employees to check in without a shift. You can enable the 'Allow check-in without shift' setting in the time clock settings.
Once the setting is enabled, your employees can start clocking their working hours. Those working times will be sent by you for approval.
Approving working hours.
When an employee has logged their hours by registering or clocking them, the hours will be sent to you for approval. You can manage these hours from Workfeed's time tracking overview by clicking on 'X changes awaiting approval'.
After clicking on 'X changes awaiting approval' you can manage the working hours. You will be able to see both the scheduled hours as well as the edited/checked hours. To approve the hours, simply tick ☑️ them off and click on 'Approve'.
How does the time clock work for my employees?
This article will show you how it works for your team.
Can I still edit the hours of a shift that is already approved?
Yes, you can navigate to the shift in the schedule view and edit the shift's times by clicking on the shift and selecting 'edit shift'.
What happens if an employee forgets to check in or out?
If an employee forgets to check in and/or out, their hours will not be added to Workfeed. If the employee in question can share their arrival and departure times with you or a manager, the times can be added manually by creating a shift.